India vs New Zealand: India women lose 1st T20I despite record fifty by Smriti Mandhana

first_imgIndia women lost the first T20I of the three-match series against New Zealand by 23 runs after they were all out for 136 runs while chasing at the Westpac Stadium in Wellington on Wednesday. Smriti Mandhana scored a fifty and earned a record but that was not enough as the other failed to rise up to the occasion and India lost the match marginally.Two of India’s batsmwomen got out for a duck while only three (Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues and Harmanpreet Kaur) managed to reach double figures as India were outclassed.Lea Tahuhu was the pick of the bowlers for New Zealand as she returned with figures of 3 for 20. Leigh Kasperek (2 for 25) and Amelia Kerr (2 for 28) also starred with the ball for the White Ferns.Smriti Mandhana smacked a fifty in just 24 deliveries to record the fastest half century in the shortest format by an Indian woman. This was Mandhana’s seventh T20I fifty as India were chasing a target of 160.VICTORY! The WHITE FERNS get home by 23 runs to go 1-0 up in the T20 series! You beauty!NZC LIVE CARD | #NZvIND FERNS (@WHITE_FERNS) February 6, 2019Mandhana has been in top form all through the New Zealand tour. Mandhana scored 195 runs in the three ODIs against New Zealand and ended up as the top scorer.Mandhana brought that ODI form in the short format of cricket and steered India in the chase in Wellington in the first T20I after the fall of the first wicket.advertisementMandhana eventually fell for 58 runs off 34 deliveries in the 12th over. Youngster Jemimah Rodrigues who supported Mandhana well from the other side fell in the 12th over for 39 off 33 deliveries.After Mandhana and Rodrigues’s wickets, the hopes were pinned on star player and captain Harmanpreet but after scoring 17 off 15, she was stumped out and India could never gain ground after that.Earlier, Sophie Devine hit 62 and captain Amy Satterthwaite scored 33 as New Zealand posted a total if 159/4 in their quota of 20 overs.Four of the five Indian bowlers who bowled on the day picked up a wicket each.last_img read more